San Diego Comic Con 2011 in 30 Easy Steps Pt 2

Step 15: Live Long and Prosper. It’s my Dad and Sister’s  first ever  trip to SDCC! How will they survive the madness?

Step 16: Speaking of Madness. Finally got to see the Madman pinup I did for the Madman: All-New Giant-Size Super Ginchy Special in print.

Step 17: Catch the Last Flight. Ditto for the Malinky Robot story in Flight 8. Remember to buy your copy of the upcoming Malinky Robot TPB! :p

Step 18: Time Travel II. Single issues of Wonderland at the SLG booth.

Step 19: Hone your Spider Sense. Dad notices a Disturbance in the Force after absorbing some Spidey Strength.

Step 20: Pick Your Battles. Do you Thien Pham Thien Pham or Gene Yang Gene Yang? Better yet, buy their new book, Level Up! Still working on a project with Gene, out next year from First Second Books.

Step 21: Share Some Robot Love. T-shirt illustrations by Joanna Mulder. Who posed for some of James Jean’s Fable covers, I always like to point out.

Step 22: Blast the Past. With GB Tran and Joanna. I first met GB at my first SDCC when we were both waiting in line to get our portfolios reviewed. Last year he released a graphic memoir, Vietnamerica, published by Pantheon.

Step 23: Attend the Eisners. Some of the presenters and such: Lance Henriksen, who manged to pronounce just about every name wrong; Joyce Brabner and Danielle collecting an award for Harvey Pekar; Jonathan Ross and Dave Gibbons hamming it up. Watch Liquid City not win and my name get mangled below! :p

Step 24: Visit the Casbah. Joe Keatinge and Mike Allred after The Gear’s first performance at Trickster. Having only ever known Mike as the creator of Madman, I was somewhat flummoxed by how excellent he was on the vocals and guitar :p

Step 25: Get a Scoop. Joe shared artwork Frank Cho did for their new title Brutal before the official SDCC annoucement!

Step 26: Draw a Blank. Sis posing with two Ugly Dolls, can’t really think of anything to add :p

Step 27: Join the Dark Side. Actually they were probably only Following Orders. Dad with Boba Fett and a Tie Fighter Pilot!

Step 28: Count Your Swag. Stuff from SDCC and other places. Looking forward to reading the new Jirio Taniguchi collection most of all! :)

Step 29: Let it Slide. No Step 30? This Cat is totally cool with that :)

5 Responses to “San Diego Comic Con 2011 in 30 Easy Steps Pt 2”

  1. Nice. I miss SDCC. Must go back there sometime again.

  2. DagGumIt, Sonny “Lewelle”! I missed you at SDCC! I was there with my dad, too. I can’t believe we didn’t run into each other… wait, I guess it can be believed. I looked for your name in the program. Next year I’ll email you. You planning to be there next year? I had such a good time, I hope to go again and again.

    • egads! my dad could’ve met your dad! :p heh….planned the trip a while back thinking malinky robot would be out in time, but that didn’t happen so just kinda turned up to see the sights with my dad n sis :p next year maybe if i can find a way to get a table/booth/small-section-of-a-chair :p

  3. [...] Robot Spies went to the San Diego Comic Con… [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 966 other followers

